Starbucks Is Overrated

I am going to make a very bold and brave statement.

starbucks-coffee.JPG  VS. 06101216121_caribou-coffee-hd.jpg

I think Caribou Coffee is better than Starbucks Coffee.

Don’t get me wrong I love Starbucks but Caribou has won over my affection for a few reasons.

Reason 1 : When you order a mocha or white mocha from Caribou they give you a chocolate covered espresso bean to go with it. It’s very tasty (not to mention their white mocha’s are probably the best taste on this entire planet)

Reason 2: Caribou knows that ordering a tall coffee is ridiculous. Starbucks seems to think that tall means small. At Caribou a small coffee is actually a small coffee. You don’t have to deal with tall, grande, and venti. It is just, small, medium, and large. Ordering a tall coffee and getting a small is stupid.

Reason 3: I saved the best for last, the main reason I choose Caribou over Starbucks coffee is because Starbucks rips you off. It’s true, If you order a venti coffee (aka large) from starbucks they do not add more flavor or anything, in fact they give you the same amount of pumps and flavor as the tall (aka small) coffee. So what are you getting in your coffee when you order a venti? To fill up the cup Starbucks will add milk or water so it looks as if there is more in the cup then there actually is. In the end a venti from Starbucks will taste watered down and almost flavorless. If I wanted a cup of hot milk I’d do that at home, for free.

Favorite Caribou drink- White Mocha
Favorite Starbucks drink- Pumpkin Spice Latte ( I just don’t order a venti)

7 Comments

Filed under Coffee

7 responses to “Starbucks Is Overrated

  1. Where can I get a taste of this Caribou coffee? None here in Montreal, and haven’t seen any in Boston. Hmm.

  2. Caribou is growing more and more popular but it is not everywhere yet, there are Caribou’s in ND, MN, WI, MI, PA, OH, IN, IL, IA, SD, NE, CO, KS, MO, NC and GA. So basically the midwest area and a few random states

  3. Zig

    Are you retarded? Of course they add more syrups to a venti. Trust me I work at Starbucks. There’s even an extra shot for grandes (mediums) and ventis (larges). There are 3 pumps of syrup for tall, 4 for grande, and 5 for ventis.

  4. No, I am not retarded but thanks for asking. I am sorry I should have clarified that 3 out of the 4 starbucks near my house rip me off everytime I go, I’ve seen them do it. One of them, (the one I try to go to more often than the others) does not. So not every single starbucks is ripping people off. Just, most of them.

    when they aren’t ripping people off their drinks are pretty damn good.

  5. Tracy

    I cant agree with u more. I had the White Mocha once while traveling to Chicago. I cant get the same satisfaction in Starbucks. But unfortunately i live in CA. So Stuck to what we get here. But still i prefer Peets than Starbucks. Hope they expand soon.

  6. No matter what anyone think, a french press is for sure greater than any other kind of coffee I’ve ever tried. If you have a bit of time, take a visit over to the guide we’ve put together at frenchpresshowto.com. Thanks for the article!

  7. Saint Sailr

    The other day I went into Starbucks and ordered a venti iced tea thing for my friend and the barista made it but dumped half out, started drinking it and then poured a TON of ice in my friends drink. I was like ‘WHAT THE HECK?!!’ but didn’t say anything… i was too tired and now i regret it!

Leave a Reply

