Under The Sea

Snorkeling in the Caribbean

I spent ten days vacationing in the Caribbean. Day after day I would go snorkeling exploring the coral and bottom of the ocean for a shell or rock that I could pick up an d take home. It seemed like everything I touched was alive and I couldn’t pick it up. After a while I became scared of touching anything for fear it would attack me. Two wonderful boys were helping me search for my under water treasure that I had yet to find. One of these boys very optimistically said that he was going to find me a sand dollar. I just shook my head because sand dollars are very hard to find because they are usually found buried under the sand and would be very hard to see if just swimming over, most people when searching for sand dollars bring shovels. Even with a shovel it is difficult because the dollar matches the sand.

About 30 seconds after that boy stated he was going to find a sand dollar for me he yelled out, “I FOUND ONE!” Of course my reaction wasn’t very excited because I thought for sure he was lying. Then I looked down to where he was pointing and sure enough, there it was…

zz3a9c1376.jpg
A grown up sand dollar, more commonly known as a Sea Biscuit. These are ever more rare then actual sand dollars because they usually break before they are able to get this size. I am very lucky to have found one in this condition.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Pictures, Travel

Leave a Reply

