Goodbye Carly

  A Gymnastics Coaches Blog
    Carly was my first favorite student. I tried not to pick favorites but I couldn’t help it. Carly was brilliant and very talented. I can honestly see her doing very well in gymnastics as long as she stays with it. Carly started taking one of my preschool classes when she was just three years old. She was good even when she was three, she was very soft spoken and sweet. I looked forward to having her in my class. She stayed in my classes as she got older, when she was six she was good enough to be on the team which I did not coach. She refused to join the team unless I went with her. I tried introducing her to her new coaches but once I left her side she would run out of the gym crying. I wanted to keep her in my class, I saw no harm in it. The team coaches thought differently. They didn’t like the idea of me keeping her. She needs more they would tell me. She was only six. After a very rough transition she finally joined the girls gymnastics team. I watched her practice. She was not the same girl I taught, she looked scared all the time, she didn’t talk to her coaches, and when they would talk to her she seemed very nervous. Then one day her mother came up to me and told me she was going to try another gym. My heart broke. I knew it was good for Carly. Carly couldn’t be in the same gym anymore her mother said it was because I was there and I was not her coach. She said she wished it could be different, she said she wished I coached the team. I told her that I understood. Which was true. I asked her to let me know how she did in her new gym. Her mom told me that Carly wanted to say goodbye to me. I knelt down in front of Carly and told her that she was going to love her new gym. I wanted to tell her she was my favorite, but I didn’t. She burst into tears and wrapped her arms around my neck “Are you mad at me?” She said in between sobs. I explained that I was not mad, that I could never be mad at her. But I told her that I was going to miss her. She said she was going to visit me all the time, then she told me I was her best friend.

That was the last time I ever saw her.

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , ,

1 Comment

Filed under Coaching, Sports

One response to “Goodbye Carly

  1. christina

    so sad.

    but i laughed out loud at the last post. good for you. i especially liked the section on shi…oot.

Leave a Reply

