I laughed at the man who flicked me off today

During my normal everyday walk to school in the early morning the temperature was abnormally chilly. 25 below zero with a 100 mile an hour winds. I bundled up with a hat, mittens, scarf, and a huge coat. Still, I was freezing. My legs were in pain they were so cold. With ten blocks left to go I just couldn’t bare to stop walking, not even to look both ways before crossing the street. I felt that because I was walking I had the right to go, so I stupidly walked right in front of a cab. The driver laid on his horn but I continued walking. Maybe it was because I wasn’t thinking about what I was doing, I was thinking about how much I wanted to be a large fat man with a giant beard. My face felt naked, cold and numb. So numb that there could have been snot smeared all over my face and I wouldn’t have known. Maybe I kept walking because I was concentrating hard on a large women standing on the opposite side of the street, her bright pink winter hat with a giant puffy ball sitting right on top holding on for dear life as it blew it the strong wind gusts. Maybe my legs were so cold they stopped listening to my brain and didn’t want to stop moving. Maybe I kept walking because the cold actually made me delusional…

The cab driver wasn’t amused. He honked again, this time waving his naughty finger while screaming something I did not hear. I am pretty sure he wasn’t complimenting me on my cute mittens…

…Without even thinking I looked right at him and laughed. Not just any laugh. I did not keep this laugh to myself. Belly laughter. I tilted my head back and laughed loudly. As I walked away I couldn’t help but think to myself, “what in the world is wrong with me?” Being flicked off isn’t usually funny. Maybe I thought it was funny that a man could get that upset over something so small. I don’t know, there is just something about a large man screaming and getting all worked up over a little girl crossing the street. He should save that worked up energy for those times when he actually has something to be worked up for, like, say, a tragedy.

 I learned my lesson nonetheless. Always look both ways no matter how cold, delusional, or distracted by the large hot pink hat, or thoughts about what it would be like to be a 300 pound man with a beard.

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “I laughed at the man who flicked me off today

  1. All very valuable lessons to learn. I still remember seeing a girl get tapped by a car downtown trying to cross the street. This little tiny delicate chick slammed her fist on the hood and kept walking, head high. If I can’t be her, I want to be able to laugh at the big angry man.

    Great post.

  2. ro

    i think he was complimenting you on your mittens 😉

Leave a Reply

