Don’t Act So Surprised

Two weeks ago I woke up looking like someone punched me in the face on the left side. There was a scratch on my face, blood from that scratch dripped onto my pillow, and my left eye was completely bloodshot. I have no idea how this happened to me, I had a dream that I was at a party with the entire Osbourne family then I woke up with wounds.

My left eye remained bloodshot for almost a week before I decided to get it checked out. The eye doctor I went to see did not sound very reassuring, she had no idea what was wrong with it. I knew that because she asked me “are you sure it doesn’t itch?” five times. I wanted to say “I am sorry if that would uncover a huge mystery for you, but for the last freaking time it doesn’t itch”  She could not just send me off without any sort of medical help so she gave me some eye drops to take three times a day. I took them but I knew she had no idea what was wrong with me.

I did what she said and took the damn drops. She got lucky because after a few days, my eye got better. She had me set up another appointment to “follow up” with me and make sure I didn’t have a more serious problem (that’s something a doctor shouldn’t tell a patient) She should have said “I want to check and see if the drops helped. The phrase serious problem tends to make people panic, I did. All of a sudden I had visions of my left eye turning black and falling out of my head. It’s far fetched, but it falls under the serious problem category.

This afternoon I went to see her again so she could make sure I did not have a serious problem. After looking at my eye for a few minutes she gasped and said “WOW that looks great! It worked! This is excellent, those drops really did the trick. There is nothing wrong with you” Any confidence I had in this doctor flew out the window with that statement. She was shocked that her treatment worked. She was just a little too enthusiastic, she acted as if she had witnessed a miracle.

I wanted to ask her not to act so surprised, it scared me. She gave me drops to make my red eye go away and they worked, wasn’t that suppose to happen?

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

Filed under Health, Life

One response to “Don’t Act So Surprised

Leave a Reply

