Who Me? A Role Model?

Last Tuesday I wore my hair in an adorably sloppy side pony tail. Nothing fancy. I went to work like that and coached my classes.

Today my entire 4 o’clock class showed up with side pony tails. I was shocked that my hairstyle the previous week could influence these little girls so much. Who knew I could set a fashion statement? I told the girls that they looked great and they responded with “You look great too” I don’t care who you are, it’s always nice to be told that you look great.

I really love my job. Sometimes I worry that I won’t say or do the right thing and these kids will copy that as well as my fashion decisions. I realize that they look up to me, some of them even consider me a role model. This title is a scary one to have. I don’t want to be the cause of any bad habits either. What if I started spitting constantly? I am sure these children would do the same, no matter how gross or inappropriate the habit is. I am sure their parents would love that and it’d be oh so lady like.

Once a seven year old girl came into class wearing make up, she cut her hair and parted on the side so that it fell into her eyes. I asked her if she was wearing makeup and she smiled saying “I was trying to look like you coach Annette”  Adorable, simply adorable. I wanted to squeeze her but I didn’t. I just told her how pretty she looked.

I also have a habit of never wearing socks that match. Now I am the cause of a handful of little girls purposely mismatching their socks.

Mismatching my their socks, wearing a little makeup and having their hair in their eyes is not a big deal nor is it a bad thing. I am just hoping none of my bad habit become their bad habits.

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments

Filed under Coaching, Fashion, Life

4 responses to “Who Me? A Role Model?

  1. ro

    you’re lovely.

    and, i think it’s funny that two of your blogs so far have been tagged mismatched socks…

    im wearing your socks. one blue striped, and one popsicle sock. not only are your socks mismatched, they are ridiculous.

    one day, you should blog about your *ridiculous* socks. πŸ˜‰

  2. i like your blog too. πŸ™‚

  3. Aw. I love little kids.

  4. I can only imagine what would happen if small children were emulating me… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

