Guys and Girls Can’t Be Friends

Harry from “When Harry Met Sally” said it best.

Harry Burns: You realize of course that we could never be friends.
Sally Albright: Why not?
Harry Burns: What I’m saying is – and this is not a come-on in any way, shape or form – is that men and women can’t be friends because the sex part always gets in the way.
Sally Albright: That’s not true. I have a number of men friends and there is no sex involved.
Harry Burns: No you don’t.
Sally Albright: Yes I do.
Harry Burns: No you don’t.
Sally Albright: Yes I do.
Harry Burns: You only think you do.
Sally Albright: You say I’m having sex with these men without my knowledge?
Harry Burns: No, what I’m saying is they all WANT to have sex with you.
Sally Albright: They do not.
Harry Burns: Do too.
Sally Albright: They do not.
Harry Burns: Do too.
Sally Albright: How do you know?
Harry Burns: Because no man can be friends with a woman that he finds attractive. He always wants to have sex with her.
Sally Albright: So, you’re saying that a man can be friends with a woman he finds unattractive?
Harry Burns: No. You pretty much want to nail ’em too.
Sally Albright: What if THEY don’t want to have sex with YOU?
Harry Burns: Doesn’t matter because the sex thing is already out there so the friendship is ultimately doomed and that is the end of the story.
Sally Albright: Well, I guess we’re not going to be friends then.
Harry Burns: I guess not.

Friends

Blogged with the Flock Browser
6 Comments

Filed under Life, Movies, Pictures

6 responses to “Guys and Girls Can’t Be Friends

  1. wayne

    i hate to bust y’all bubbles on man n woman cant be friends without sex …i have been friends with about 5 women that we still friends even after they are married or i am married we never thought about us having sex…some men put on this act trying to be friends and all he’s trying to do is have sex …but a true friend would never ruin a friend ship over sex…any replys oldcrowe2009@yahoo.com

  2. Bumba1717

    I think it’s somewhere inbetween. The sex ‘issue’ will probably always be there on some level, but it doesn’t have to doom the friendship.

    More importantly, xkcd is awesome, that film is great, and long live confusing relationships between genders.

  3. WAYNE

    I STILL SAY THEY CAN BE A FRIEND SHIP WITHOUT SEX IF THEY ARE TRULY FRIENDS ……..I TELL U A LITTLE STORY
    I MET A GIRL IN THE 70’S SHE LOOK LIKE SHE LOSTS HER BEST FRIEND DIDN HAVE NO PLACE TO GO AND WAS HUNGRY …I TOOK HER TO EAT AND LET HER STAY AT MY PLACE TILL SHE COULD GET ON HER FEET SHE STAY WITH ME ABOUT ONE YEAR..I HAD GIRL FRIENDS THAT I WENT OUT WITH NO PROBLEM GETTING SEX ..BEVERLY WOULD GO OUT ALLSO … SOMETIMES WE WOULD STAY HOME WATCH A MOVIE TOGETHER ON THE SOFA SNUDDLE ON THE SOFA WELL I FELT HER KISSING ME ON THE NECK I STOP HER AND SAID WERE JUST FRIENDS BUT SHE FELT LIKE SHE NEEDED TO DO SOMETHING FOR ME HELPING HER THE WAY I DID I TOLD NO SHE DIDN HAVE TO I DID IT BECAUSE I WANT A TOO…SHE SAID COOL THEN ON IT WAS JUST FRIENDS ..I BEEN KNOW HER NOW GOING ON AROUND 30 YEARS ..SHE MARRIED HAD A DAUGHTER AND DOING RATHER WELL ..I AM VERY GLAD I FOUND HER CAUSE SHE IS A GREAT FRIEND .. BUT ANY WAY I HAVE HAD FEW LADY FRIENDS THAT WE NEVER ONCE TRY TO HAVE SEX IT JUST DIDN FEEL RIGHT I CANT EXPLAIN IT BUT ITS THE WAY I FEEL…

  4. WAYNE

    I THINK SEX IS WAY OVER RATED 2 PEOPLE TOGETHER THINK THEY GOTTA HAVE SEX…..
    SEX IS THE LAST THING ON MY MIND ..I WANNA GO OUT HAVE FUN NOT WORRY ABOUT SEX ………TO ME SEX IS WHEN U MEET SOME ONE YOU LIKE AND GO OUT DATE SHARE LIFE TOGETHER AND CRY TOGETHER …….ME I AM NOT ATRACTED TO THE BODY OF A WOMAN YEA I THINK WOMEN IS PRETTY GOT GOOD LOOKING BODYS BUT I AM I GUESS OLD SCHOOL …WHEN THE TIME IS RIGHT WE WILL KNOW ITS TIME TO MAKE LOVE NOT JUST HAVE SEX SEX IS A THREE LETTER WORD …TO ME HAVING SEX NOT NOTHING ……….,MAKING LOVE TO A WOMAN IS PRICELESS….THEN U CAN SAY WOW THAT WAS WONDERFULL…..NOW THATS WHY I KNOW I CAN BE FRIENDS WITH WOMEN CAUSE I DONT THINK OF SEX CAUSE I BECOME FRIENDS FIRST THEN IF IT TURNS OUT TO BE MORE I WILL KNOW …BUT I GUESS EVERYBODY NOT LIKE ME …

  5. When Harry Met Sally is my favorite movie. I do think the sex gets in the way with most hetero friendships between a man and a woman. Someone always has some thought of the other at some point. BUT it isn’t impossible.

  6. wayne

    well ya cant go by a movie and say whether man and woman can be friends and not have sex and be just friends …..movies are made up movies …real life is what i am talking about… not go by some movie..anything can happen in the movies its a dream up world… which i like movies dont get me wrong …like i said back in my other comments i am old school ….sence the hippie days sex has not been the same ……now a days sex is every where…..so ya cant go by now a days ……..sex was never the first thing on my mind when i woke up in the morning or the last thing on my mind when i went to bed at night ..dont get me i went out on dates…but i dont go out just looking for sex like some people i knew they be all upset cause they could not score a woman have sex…i go out to have fun enjoy myself …

Leave a Reply

